Bald Mountain

Summits: Bald Mountain – 9,368′
Date: 10/14/2018
Range: Boise Mountains
Distance: 4.4 Miles
Elevation Gain: 1,750′

It was an unseasonably cold October day but I still wanted to get out in the high country as I did not get out the week before as I was under the weather.  Bald Mountain (one of many Bald Mountains in Idaho) seemed like a good choice as it was short and I had not been to that area.

I nearly stopped well before the trailhead because of the snow.  Luckily it was not deep and I nearly made it to the start of the Corbus Lake Trail.  Despite the snow being a couple inches deep I made good progress.  The temperature was well below freezing and the water in my camelback froze.  Luckily I had a water bottle too.  The views on top were great of Steel Mountain, the Sawtooths, and Corbus Lake.  On the way back with the sun out I was plenty warm.

It was nice to get out to a new area even though the peak was not particularly rugged.  Sometime I will have to check out Steel Mountain and the Queens River area of the Sawtooths.

Summit

Steel Mountain

Corbus Lake

Bald Mountain

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started